We research
and innovate.

We educate social

We influence
societal change.

Aurora is a partnership of like-minded and closely collaborating research intensive European universities, who use their academic excellence to drive societal change and contribute to the sustainable development goals.



260 000


30 000


673 922





Research groups


Virtual Campus

In this interactive space, we offer courses and exchange opportunities for our students, training and academic collaboration opportunities for our staff, and resources of interest to our wider community.

Aurora Members

Our universities are deeply committed to the social impact of their activities and have a history of engagement with their local communities.

Aurora Members

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
The VU is a comprehensive research university, founded in 1880 and aims to contribute to a better world. A world in which justice, humanity, and responsibility for each other and for the world, are central.
University of Iceland
The University of Iceland, founded in 1911, is a progressive comprehensive research university, situated in the heart of Reykjavik, the capital of Iceland. Great emphasis is placed on strengthening research and educating young people, preparing them for taking an active part in society as well as making their mark on the global community.
University Duisburg-Essen
Founded in 2003 by merger of two universities in the cities Duisburg and Essen, we are one of the youngest universities in Germany. Located at the heart of the Ruhr metropolis, our university is like our region: dynamic, ambitious, and ever changing.
University Federico II of Naples
Founded by the emperor of the Holy Roman Empire Frederick II in 1224, the University Federico II is the world’s oldest state-supported institution of Higher Education and Research. Based in Naples, the University is rooted in a challenging and lively socio-economic context and aims at bridging southern Italy to the global scientific community.
University Rovira i Virgili
The Universitat Rovira i Virgili (URV) was created in 1991 by the Parliament of Catalonia. From the very first day, the university’s aim has been apparent: to place knowledge at the service of society to contribute to the social and economic development of the surrounding area, as it gradually transforms over time.
Universität Innsbruck
Founded in 1669, Universität Innsbruck is the largest research and education institution in western Austria, with more than 27,000 students and 5,000 staff and faculty members. Located in the heart of the Alps, Universität Innsbruck is a research university comprising sixteen faculties and 81 departments.
Palacký University Olomouc
Palacký University Olomouc is the oldest university in Moravia and the second-oldest in the Czech Republic. It was established in 1573 as a public university led by the Jesuit order in Olomouc, which was at that time the capital of Moravia and the seat of the episcopacy. At first it taught only theology, but soon the fields of philosophy, law and medicine were added.
Copenhagen Business School

Copenhagen Business School (CBS) was established in 1917. Today CBS is one of the 8 Danish universities, with more than 21,000 students and 1,500 employees – faculty, PhD-students and administrative staff. Programmes are based on a strong and internationally renowned research base that CBS consistently strengthens. CBS has a Center of Excellence, funded by the Danish National Research Foundation, and has received five European Research Council Grants.

Université Paris-Est Créteil

With 14 faculties, schools and institutes, 1 observatory and 33 research laboratories, Université Paris-Est Créteil has been active in all fields of knowledge since 1970. A major player in disseminating academic, scientific and technological knowledge, the university offers more than 350 training courses in all disciplines and levels.

University of Minnesota (USA)

The University of Minnesota, founded in 1851, is Aurora’s first global member and one of the largest research universities worldwide. It has five U.S. campuses with schools of engineering, medicine, law, veterinary medicine, and agriculture. It ranks 14th in active public research with over $1 billion in annual spending. Its mission includes research, teaching, and public service, preparing its 70,000 students for a global society and addressing pressing societal issues.

Associate Partners

University of Tetova
Founded in 1994, the University of Tetova welcomes and is open to all the students, teachers and collaborators. It welcomes individuals who possess intellectual and moral qualities, which they can apply in an academic climate of clearly defined institutional autonomy and academic freedom, to contribute to the development of education, science and professional development at the university.
South-West University Neofit Rilski
The South-West University “Neofit Rilski” was founded in 1976 in Blagoevgrad. With a history of over 40 years, the University has gained a reputation as a leader in the sphere of science and education in Bulgaria and on the Balkans. At present it is recognized as one of the forefront classical universities in South – Eastern Europe.
Pavol Jozef Safarik University Kosice
Pavol Jozef Šafárik University was established in 1959 as the second classical University in Slovakia. The current structure of P. J. Šafárik University includes five faculties – Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Public Administration and Faculty of Arts. At our University more than 7 500 students are studying.
V. N. Karazin National University Kharkiv
V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University is a leading Ukrainian research and educational institution with a 215-year history. In the «Top-200 Ukraine» UNESCO Chair Ranking in 2019, the University ranked third among all Ukrainian institutions of higher education. According to the annual QS World University Rankings 2020, Karazin University is included in the Top 500 universities in the world. The University ranks 491st, which is the highest position compared to other Ukrainian universities.

Contact us

Contact us on the contact page.

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and never miss another article.