Who We Are

General Council & Board

Aurora has a General Council which consists of the rectors/presidents of the Aurora universities – or their formal representatives. The General Council meets twice a year. 

In addition to the General Council, Aurora has a board of four rectors and presidents who are charged with the management of the association. As of May 2022 the board composition is:

Jón Atli Benediktsson

Aurora President and chair of the Aurora Board

Rector and President of the University of Iceland

David Richardson

Aurora Board member and Treasurer

Vice-Chancellor of the University of East-Anglia

Mirjam van Praag

Aurora Board member

President of Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

María José Figueras Salvat

Aurora Board member

Rector of Universitat Rovira i Virgili 

Alma Ágústsdóttir

Aurora Student Council President and Board member

Student Council International relations officer at the University of Iceland

Barbara Albert

Rector of the University of Duisburg-Essen

Tilmann Märk

Rector of Universität Innsbruck

Matteo Lorito

Rector of the University Federico II of Naples

Martin Procházka

Rector of Palacký University Olomouc

Aurora Coordinators

Institutional coordinators

Each Aurora university has an “institutional coordinator” who monitors the Aurora activities in their own institution as well as in the network. Below you will find an overview of the institutional coordinators per university. 

Esmee Paques

VU Amsterdam

Harpa Sif Arnarsdóttir

University of Iceland

Thomas Baumgartner

University of Innsbruck

Friðrika Harðardóttir

University of Iceland

Alessandro Arienzo

University of Naples Federico II

Richard Harvey

University of East Anglia

Petra Günther

University of Duisburg-Essen

John Style

University of Rovira i Virgili

Selma Porobic

Palacky University Olomouc

Anne-Karen Hüske

Copenhagen Business School

Aurora Central Office

Aurora is supported by a small central office consisting of six team members:

Anne-May Janssen


Sabine Sainte-Rose

Programme Director

Auður Inga Rúnarsdóttir

Project Manager for Research and Innovation

Maria José Montaña Correa

Office Manager

Anna Klas

Communications Officer

Pim de Boer

EU Liaison Officer

Christy Clabots

Office Assistant

Aurora Student Council

Aurora Student Council consists of two elected student representatives from each university, who collectively decide on student priorities within Aurora. The council is led by the elected president and vice-president. 

Alma Ágústsdóttir

Aurora Student President – University of Iceland

Ayane Hida

Aurora Vice-President – University of East Anglia

Alisa Koester

Aurora Student Council Secretary – University of Aberdeen

Michel Breuer

ASC member – University of Duisburg Essen

Ivo Garnham

ASC member – University of East Anglia

Anna-Maria Weiß

ASC member University of Innsbruck

Isabel Alejandra Diaz

ASC member – University of Iceland

Lukas Schobesberger

ASC member – Universität Innsbruck

Daniel V. Mueller

ASC member – Universität Innsbruck

Imane Boussof Sbai

ASC member – Universtat Rovira i Virgili

Xènia Roviralta

ASC member – Universtat Rovira i Virgili

Abdul Malik

ASC member – Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Asmaa Elhassan

ASC member – Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Hanus Patera

ASC member – Palacký University Olomouc